top of page
Search
  • stevenvolor

THE WORLD IS NOT THE SAME (We're All Insane)

My newest single, "The World Is Not The Same" comes out Friday, March 12th 2021. It's the final single before I begin the era of my full length debut album. The World Is Not The Same is one of my darkest songs yet with lyrics that address our inner battles and facing our demons in a world that is completely lost. The song is much more bass driven as I wanted the song to feel as if the entire planet exploded from its core into a billion pieces, and I feel I've done just that. It seems that the world is trying to move forward and evolve, but instead it's going backwards, sideways, diagonally, up, down, and in circles.

We put so much attention and value into things that really don't matter and we ignore the relevant information that helps us grow. We're sucked into social media, social drama, and our news stations that we no longer care to find information on our own or make up our own minds. We're taught to be afraid to speak up because we'll be cancelled, but we're encouraged to speak up if we're cancelling. Musicians are always shunned for speaking their opinions on world problems, but the people in the comments are allowed to say as they please. Lyrics that address domestic abuse are now causing turmoil as they're misunderstood, but songs like WAP have no effect on us. Might as well cancel every rap song that's singing about bitches, beatings, gangs, drugs, ect. The list goes on and on and on and on. The world has become far too hypocritical, far too political, and far too pitiful.

It has been a full year now since the world shut down in March 2020, and I spent this time writing music and watching society unfold while unfolding with it. The businesses I worked for shut-down permanently, so I lost my job then found temporary work then moved away from that and eventually went out of state for work. During this time, I wrote songs like LIFE IS BUT A MOMENT to address the fact that we don't have much time on this earth and each moment is precious as it can be something beautiful or it can be something tragic. So many people were left feeling lonely, depressed, anxious, suicidal, and then there were many who followed through with it. I personally struggled during this time living by myself, and having to deal with anxious breaks with no one to turn too. The thought of these people made me want to scream, so I did, in my first release, Life Is But A Moment, I asked you, "how will you spend the time you got?" I then covered Elton Johns hit single, I'M STILL STANDING and released that on January, 1st 2021 to say to everyone congratulations we made it another year, now what? Are things magically going to be better because the date changed? Or are we going to do something different? Which then brought me to writing, THE WORLD IS NOT THE SAME because nothing changed, well it did as in fact, it only got worse.

For the sake of peace, I try to remain neutral in my views as in order to make the world a better place we have to reason and understand each other from all view points. This is something that is completely lost in todays dialogue. If we disagree with somebody it turns into an all out war, but who is to say that your opinion is the right one? Get rid of your tunnel vision and think for yourselves. Facebook is not news, and all major news station are biased. It is a fact that headlines do not match what's written in the article and that does not match the video or audio of the event. If you get your news from headlines, you really don't know shit.


"The world is not the same we're all insane

Trapped in my mind, lost in mankind

The world is not sane, we're not the same

Fighting to survive for what's not worth fighting for"


Think about it. What're you fighting for? What type of world do you want to live in? Are you insane?


I kept this post fairly vague because I also don't want to tell people how to think that's the whole point of this article and the song. Take some time to think about the events that transpired this past year and think about it from every view point. Is there something that you missed? Did you choose bias over fact? When Tom Morello and Ted Nugent said that they were friends, that should've been a sense of normalcy, unity, and sanity not a time to say Tom Morello isn't "black" enough. That's the world we live in today, and I've had enough of it. We can't undo the things we've done, but we can begin to be better.


THE WORLD IS NOT THE SAME comes out Friday, March 12th, 2021 to all digital platforms. Please make sure to pre-save, follow, and subscribe.


Take care of each other.


Love,

PÖLLIXX


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page